Steam yet again

Any software related topics go in here.
Vector1

Steam yet again

Post by Vector1 »

I am totally new to Steam therefore the following “stupid” question/s. First of all – How does steam work once a game has been bought and installed. Can I obtain a hardcopy of the game? If I format my HDD, how do I back my game up – meaning do I have to re-install from steam using my CAP? Is there any known local steam “agent” who does not affect my CAP? I just d-loaded Team fortress 2, it took me 3 ½ hours and not sure if there are any updates, which would probably be another gig or 3. Or could I just copy the entire directory using that as a b-up. Your help would be appreciated. :oops: :lol: :lol: :shock:
JollyJamma

Re: Steam yet again

Post by JollyJamma »

Game license stays on server regardless of PC or local. Either buy the game online or retail and enter in the key.
If you buy a game retail it comes with the install disk ex updates.
Data can be backed up but it doesn't always work nicely. You can export your game files using the STEAM interface.
If you have mates with the games get them to give you the files. You can import the files without the key and it'll just not run until you do.

Hope this gives some answers.
TF2 is updated all the time and it's sitting at 10gigs for now.
It's painful with all the hats.
I no longer think of myself as Atheist however I reject religion as a concept where you must do x because someone says so. May contain nuts.
D3PART3D
Starbound's Dear

Post by D3PART3D »