Setting up company intranet

Get help on web editors (Frontpage, Dreamweaver) and web languages (HTML, ASP, PHP).
DJT
I Bribed Ron With Foundry And All I Got Was This Lousy Title

Setting up company intranet

Post by DJT »

Good morning fellow Forumites!

It has been decided that our company is going to have its own intranet site. I have been given the task of building and setting up this site. There is one tiny snag... I am not a website developer :P Therefore, I am going to need a little help in getting this off the ground. I have set up IIS on one of our servers and have put a place holder page which i have tested and can be accessed at both our branches by using its IP address. Apparently you can assign it a host. IE, http://companyname.something. How do you do this? Is it just a setting you do on the server, or is it an external thing?

Having an extremely limited knowledge of web design and coding, I am unsure of what language or program would be best for the layout I have come up with. Please see below for the mock up. Soz about size

Preferably, I want the sides to be independant of the middle, like frames, but i don't know if it is the best way to do it. If not, it doesn't really matter. The menu bar on the left should be easy, it doesn't need to be fancy, just some links to downloads (leave forms, extension lists, etc)

However, the bar on the right is where i need advice. I want a analogue clock, like the widget for vista (This is more for looks than a requirement so if not possible, its cool) then a calandar that highlights the current day, perhaps even with ability to add events on, such as big meetings or staff events. I’ve seen sites with this on before so I know it is possible.