DarkRanger
Processor: Intel i5-3750
Motherboard: Gigabyte
Graphics card: nVidia GTX 550Ti
Memory: 8GB Jetram

Hosting own Website

Post by DarkRanger »

Hi guys,

Firstly, don't know if this is in the correct forum, but move wherever it is suposed to be if you have to! ;)

I would like to know the pro's and con's of hosting your own website and if it really is worth it. Reason I am asking is because the company I work for wants to host a website. The purpose of the website will remain unknown as I would like to hear your opinions on general site hosting.

I would like to know what we would need to host a website (speed of line, applications, server requirements etc etc) and what risks there are involved. Also, what are the advantages of hosting ones own website.

Thanks!!
garp

Re: Hosting own Website

Post by garp »

I'm no expert in this, but heres my .5 pounds....

I'd say one advantage is... you are your own host, therefor any server problems and whatnot can be dealt with immediately. The disadvantage is.... you are your own host, pressure to sort out broken servers and other problems (especially if a problem arises, and you not sure how to fix it) you get where I'm going with this? :P
Cooler Master RC-690 CM 690
Intel Core i7 950 3.06 GHz
MSI R5870
2 x 1TB WD Black
Corsair DDR3-1600 6GB DOMINATOR
Intel SmackOver DX58SO MB
Corsair TX650W Power Supply - 650W
Samsung P2350 23"
Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Koko_Lion

Post by Koko_Lion »

It would help to know what the site is going to be used for. So we can give advice on what services you would need to run like, CGI, PHP, SQL, GCC, SSI etc etc?

As Garp said, hosting else where might save lots of headaches, as you don't have to worry about maintenance and service/apps updates.
hamin_aus
Forum Moderator
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard: GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
Graphics card: Galax GTX1080
Memory: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws

Post by hamin_aus »

Hosting your own website is almost always a silly idea.