Using a password protected Access database in VB.NET

Get help on programming - C++, Java, Delphi, etc.
ArmatageShanks

Using a password protected Access database in VB.NET

Post by ArmatageShanks »

Hello. I am a n00b. Yes, I am an IT student, but I'm a n00b one. Here is my current problem.

I'm trying to use an access database that's password protected in vb.net 2003, using the OleDbAdapter and the Microsoft Jet 4.0 OLE DB Provider, but it throws me this message when trying to test the connection:
VisualBasic.NET wrote:Test connection failed because of an error in initialzing provider. Cannot start your application. The workgroup information file is missing or opened exclusively by another user
Can anyone help?
xchuckx has been flushed and respawned neo-nymbo
Kronos
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Using a password protected Access database in VB.NET

Post by Kronos »

ArmatageShanks wrote:Can anyone help?
The only honest help I can give you is to say:

NEVER, EVER!!! FOR EVER EVER!!!!!!!
Use either Access or VB.NET

Access is the worst excuse for a DB system.
Only capable of handling small amounts of data, and even then, something as stupid as flat files would be better.

And VB is, well. VB!

But I guess this is for a varsity project, so you don't really have a choice?
So I'll attempt to help, even though I don't approve of the choice of technology.

How do you set up the connection to the "DB"? Setting the properties of the controls, or in code?
LordRage

Post by LordRage »

I agree with the Access problem, however, the nice thing with Access, is it requires very little work to make the program run to a SQL DB later on in its life.

I do have to dissagree with the VB bashing, as VB is great for exactly that type of application, as long as you cos everything and dont just use the wizards, alot of industry uses that!!
Catch a man a fish, and you can sell it to him. Teach a man to fish, and you ruin a wonderful business opportunity. (Karl Marx)
ArmatageShanks