Visual Basic

Get help on programming - C++, Java, Delphi, etc.
Mal

Visual Basic

Post by Mal »

How much should Visual Basic cost me?
PaperCut

Re: Visual Basic

Post by PaperCut »

Mal wrote:How much should Visual Basic cost me?
Ditto.. :?:
/. Image /. Image /. Image /. Image /.
Wildberry

Post by Wildberry »

Don't buy it when you can download it legally. :lol:

See http://www.myvbnotes.netfirms.com for the details. Just scroll down the page a bit and you should spot it!
Mal

Post by Mal »

Thanks very much man! Downloading it now!
thread3

Post by thread3 »

does it also run on the dot net framework?

since that crap came out i gave up advancing in programming.

I stick with VB6.
Mal

Post by Mal »

Sorry if this is a dumb question. what exactly is the dont net framework? Im a noob, just learning!
Sojourn

Post by Sojourn »

Mal wrote:Sorry if this is a dumb question. what exactly is the dont net framework? Im a noob, just learning!
The .NET Framework is platform that allows you to run web and other applications locally. That's apps created by .Net and in a small part, old VB.

similar to = You need DirectX for games to use the features of your video card, in the same fasion do you need the .net framework for certain applications (web or otherwise) written with .Net to work. Period.

s
Screeper

Post by Screeper »

What Sojourn said..

and also the .Net framework was devised by old Bill and his mates at Microsoft to have all programmers (using MS languages) using the same playing field no matter what language they're using. The new MS languages (notably C# and VB.NET) now work from the same 'foundation' for want of a better word. So in theory now you can code in C# and then click a few buttons and convert the code into VB. However in reality it doesn't appear to work as smoothly as everyone would like.