Initial setup and fears about Mandriva

Discussion and support for all Linux distributions and Unix flavours (FreeBSD, OpenBSD, etc).
Jacquess

Initial setup and fears about Mandriva

Post by Jacquess »

Ok, so me being a complete newbie to Linux, I have some questions:

Can I dual boot with Mandriva and XP Pro?I do not want to get rid of XP pro just yet. Need to get used to Linux first

If so, how can it be done? A detailed explanation will be appreciated.

And, what is the general opinion around Ubuntu Linux. How does it compare to the other versions? Especially Mandriva, as I might switch later on.

Any help would be great as I have created the discs from the iso image provided and got as far as the reboot and setup screen, but fear possible deletion of all my data if I click on the wrong button.
Azgard
Moderator Emeritus

Post by Azgard »

Mandriva Linux used to be called Mandrake Linux right? I don't like the new name, but oh well.

You should be able to dual boot with XP no problem, easiest way is to have your XP installed on a parition of the harddrive and then have some unparitioned space which the Linux installed will automatically use to create the SWAP and EXT3 partitions it need. At the end of the installation process it should install a boot loader which lets you chose Linux or Windows when you boot up.

I've tried Ubuntu and it does not compare to the big distributions of Linux such as Gentoo and Mandrake.
Moses

Post by Moses »

I used Mandrake 10 and 10.1, and then switched to ubuntu and now I am using kubuntu (ubuntu with KDE as default).

Last time I checked (a couple months back) Ubuntu was rated top (taking the long standing position from mandrake). Shuttleworth assembled a team of the best in the industry to develope ubuntu, so I wouldn't laugh it off.
Azgard
Moderator Emeritus

Post by Azgard »