Rich text box expands to fit screen-Want it contained!

Get help on web editors (Frontpage, Dreamweaver) and web languages (HTML, ASP, PHP).
Post Reply
Jonboy
Registered User
Posts: 1606
Joined: 20 Apr 2005, 02:00
Location: The Powerhouse!

Rich text box expands to fit screen-Want it contained!

Post by Jonboy »

Howzit guys,

Please could a web design genius help me out.

This is my first time designing a web page for the office. I am using a WYSIWYG program called More Motion Web Express from the PCF coverdisc and have handled everything so far until now.

The problem is that I have included a rich-text box with content which, within the visual editor, includes a scroll bar to view text at the bottom of the box. When I build the page, however, the text box expands itself to the size of the text so that you have to scroll down within your browser to view the text at the bottom. I don't want this, I want the box size contained with a scroll bar.
[Intel Core i3 2100 {Sandybridge}]
[Asus P8P67 Pro LE Socket 155 Mobo]
[HIS AMD Radeon 6850 1GB Gfx]
[4Gb Mushkin Silverline DDR3 1333 RAM]
[500Gb Seagate SATAII 6G HDD]
[Coolermaster Elite 430 Chasis]
[Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit]
[LG W2234S 22" Display]
maxxis
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 8307
Joined: 30 Jun 2004, 02:00
Location: ( . Y . )
Contact:

Post by maxxis »

How good is your HTML skills?
Jonboy
Registered User
Posts: 1606
Joined: 20 Apr 2005, 02:00
Location: The Powerhouse!

Post by Jonboy »

So so, I'm using the visual editor but I could insert some code if the need be.
[Intel Core i3 2100 {Sandybridge}]
[Asus P8P67 Pro LE Socket 155 Mobo]
[HIS AMD Radeon 6850 1GB Gfx]
[4Gb Mushkin Silverline DDR3 1333 RAM]
[500Gb Seagate SATAII 6G HDD]
[Coolermaster Elite 430 Chasis]
[Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit]
[LG W2234S 22" Display]
PaperCut
Registered User
Posts: 10961
Joined: 13 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: at a place so beautiful, even God has a window...
Contact:

Post by PaperCut »

sup.

I'm not sure the type of textbox you wanna insert.

here's some code for a textbox:

Code: Select all

<input name="Text1" type="text" size="25" />
you can change the 'size' to whatever you want

and here's some for a textarea:

Code: Select all

<textarea name="TextArea1" style="width: 250px; height: 150px"></textarea>
here you can change the 'width' and 'height' to whatever pixels you want.

I hope this solves your problem.
/. Image /. Image /. Image /. Image /.
HuNtingGoof
Registered User
Posts: 2257
Joined: 19 Sep 2003, 02:00
Location: Durban
Contact:

Post by HuNtingGoof »

Damn -- such a simple problem..

Y didn't ya just google it.. lol

** google is my best and only friend :oops:
maxxis
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 8307
Joined: 30 Jun 2004, 02:00
Location: ( . Y . )
Contact:

Post by maxxis »

Damn such a simple post. Why didn't just shut up.

This forum is to help people. Not everybody is a guru at coding etc. People are allowed to ask questions.

Thanks for the post PC.
Jonboy
Registered User
Posts: 1606
Joined: 20 Apr 2005, 02:00
Location: The Powerhouse!

Post by Jonboy »

Thanks guys, appreciated!
[Intel Core i3 2100 {Sandybridge}]
[Asus P8P67 Pro LE Socket 155 Mobo]
[HIS AMD Radeon 6850 1GB Gfx]
[4Gb Mushkin Silverline DDR3 1333 RAM]
[500Gb Seagate SATAII 6G HDD]
[Coolermaster Elite 430 Chasis]
[Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit]
[LG W2234S 22" Display]
HuNtingGoof
Registered User
Posts: 2257
Joined: 19 Sep 2003, 02:00
Location: Durban
Contact:

Post by HuNtingGoof »

maxxis wrote:Damn such a simple post. Why didn't just shut up.

This forum is to help people. Not everybody is a guru at coding etc. People are allowed to ask questions.

Thanks for the post PC.
OK FINE.. SOOOOOOOOORY!
PaperCut
Registered User
Posts: 10961
Joined: 13 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: at a place so beautiful, even God has a window...
Contact:

Post by PaperCut »

maxxis wrote:Thanks for the post PC.
Jonboy wrote:Thanks guys, appreciated!
no problemo!

8)

glad i could help ;)
/. Image /. Image /. Image /. Image /.
Post Reply