Adding videos to a java program

Get help on programming - C++, Java, Delphi, etc.
Post Reply
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Adding videos to a java program

Post by Worship »

Hey

I am in matric and I would like to find out if their is a way to add videos to any java program. If anyone knows of a tutorial or and example that is on the internet please post it here. Any help would be appreciated
KillerByte
G3AR Staff Member
Posts: 5790
Joined: 08 Mar 2003, 02:00
Location: PCFormat HQ
Contact:

Post by KillerByte »

your sig is waaaaaayyyyyy tooo heavy
What I type has nothing to do with the people that employ me.
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

er - sorry i will edit that but I am using Ready to Program for my school syllabus so any help would be appreciated
User avatar
rustypup
Registered User
Posts: 8872
Joined: 13 Dec 2004, 02:00
Location: nullus pixius demonica
Contact:

Post by rustypup »

first, grab a copy of the Java Advanced Imaging API <<link!
you'll need these extensions installed in your current JRE/JDK.

while you're at it, bookmark:
JAI API FAQ page <<link!
Java Technology Forums: Multimedia and Imaging <<link!

getting to know jai was the most fun i've had in a while... :lol:
Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so - Bertrand Russel
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

Ok i have done that and now? :?:
User avatar
rustypup
Registered User
Posts: 8872
Joined: 13 Dec 2004, 02:00
Location: nullus pixius demonica
Contact:

Post by rustypup »

you've installed the JAI package?...

there's a bunch of demo's and source included.. tried any of the examples in the links provided?..

<edit>
two clicks of the rodent and we have an excellent example right here...
</edit>
Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so - Bertrand Russel
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

I copied the above and it gave me this error :

Error: Could not find packaged named:

this was for import javax.media.*;

Am i supposed to be using ready to program, to code for java or is there a better program?
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

rustypup wrote:you've installed the JAI package?...

there's a bunch of demo's and source included.. tried any of the examples in the links provided?..

<edit>
two clicks of the rodent and we have an excellent example right here...
</edit>
JAI package? is that Java Media Framework?
User avatar
rustypup
Registered User
Posts: 8872
Joined: 13 Dec 2004, 02:00
Location: nullus pixius demonica
Contact:

Post by rustypup »

have you installed the jmf package?

link previously provided here... you need this...

as for a better IDE, check out:
Netbeans or
Eclipse

both are excellent packages...
<edit>
yes, the distributable is JMF, (java media foundation), which includes the JAI API.. :wink:
</edit>
Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so - Bertrand Russel
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

yeah i have downloaded that. i will try one of those other IDEs
sv_roadkill
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 02:00

Post by sv_roadkill »

I think that you should copy paste!!

8) :stupid:
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

I tried NetBeans

package javax.media does not exist

Where do i download this package from?
User avatar
rustypup
Registered User
Posts: 8872
Joined: 13 Dec 2004, 02:00
Location: nullus pixius demonica
Contact:

Post by rustypup »

Worship wrote: package javax.media does not exist
this package is installed along with the jai... it should be under your java/%ver%/lib or java/%ver%/lib/ext folder.. .

are you running more than one jdk?... in which case, be sure to specify which one you're building for under netbeans, (right click the project folder, select properties>libraries> then verify the "Java Platform" selected... the jmf executable will install into your *latest* jvm.. you may need to manually copy the jar extensions into your jdk jre... (ie, copy the jai packages from the jvm lib/ext to that of your jdk...)

am i speaking russian?.. shout if i am... :wink:
Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so - Bertrand Russel
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

rustypup wrote:
Worship wrote: package javax.media does not exist
this package is installed along with the jai... it should be under your java/%ver%/lib or java/%ver%/lib/ext folder.. .

are you running more than one jdk?... in which case, be sure to specify which one you're building for under netbeans, (right click the project folder, select properties>libraries> then verify the "Java Platform" selected... the jmf executable will install into your *latest* jvm.. you may need to manually copy the jar extensions into your jdk jre... (ie, copy the jai packages from the jvm lib/ext to that of your jdk...)

am i speaking russian?.. shout if i am... :wink:
I got to the libraries part, but then how do u verify Java platform? i dont see an option for that?

sorry but not really skilled in programming especially with netbeans...
Worship
Registered User
Posts: 505
Joined: 28 Jan 2006, 02:00
Location: Johannesburg

Post by Worship »

YEAH!!!! I finally got it to work in netbeans after Ready to Program was being a @$$hole. At least it works fine in netbeans thanks Rusty for all your help much appreciated!

Oh and what was wrong? I am sooo ashamed to say after installed the jmf, i didn't restart... But Ready to Program still doesn't accept the code but at least netbeans does. Thanks Rusty
User avatar
rustypup
Registered User
Posts: 8872
Joined: 13 Dec 2004, 02:00
Location: nullus pixius demonica
Contact:

Post by rustypup »

Worship wrote:after installed the jmf, i didn't restart...
ah.. yes... the installer modifies the CLASSPATH to include the jai..

glad to hear you're sorted... have fun :wink:
Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so - Bertrand Russel
Post Reply