Page 1 of 1

Subdomains with Webmin

Posted: 28 Sep 2010, 12:01
by DarkRanger
Hi,

Can someone please tell me how I will add a subdomain using webmin? I currently have www.example.com, but want to add admin.example.com.

Any ideas?

Re: Subdomains with Webmin

Posted: 28 Sep 2010, 15:18
by doo_much
You do it the same way you do the domain itself.

If you do it in httpd.conf directory:

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost *&#58;80>
 ServerName http://www.mydomain.tld
 ServerAlias mydomain.tld
 ServerAdmin me@mydomain.tld
 DocumentRoot /data/mydomain.tld/www
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *&#58;80>
 ServerName subdomain.mydomain.tld
 ServerAdmin me@mydomain.tld
 DocumentRoot /data/mydomain.tld/subdomain
</VirtualHost>
Or via webmin, just create a new virtual server and for the servername, use the subdomain.domain.tld as the value.
GOOGLE!!!!

Re: Subdomains with Webmin

Posted: 28 Sep 2010, 15:46
by DarkRanger
doo_much wrote:Or via webmin, just create a new virtual server and for the servername, use the subdomain.domain.tld as the value.
GOOGLE!!!!
I've done that, didn't want to work.

And I've googled countless times. Please note I google always before asking a question.

Maar dankie in elk geval.

Code: Select all

<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/admindeltafacilities
ServerName admin.deltafacilities.com
<Directory /var/www/admindeltafacilities>
allow from all
Options +Indexes
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>
this is what I have. www.deltafacilities.com works fine. Argh, frustration...

Re: Subdomains with Webmin

Posted: 28 Sep 2010, 18:39
by doo_much
:oops:

Ag okay dan - dan moet jy maar wag vir die slim mense! :mrgreen:

Re: Subdomains with Webmin

Posted: 29 Sep 2010, 08:02
by DarkRanger
doo_much wrote::oops:

Ag okay dan - dan moet jy maar wag vir die slim mense! :mrgreen:
:lol: