Empowered (Comic Review)

Japanese toons and movies - You gotta love 'em!
Forum rules
The global forum rules are found here.

NOTE: posts in this section are not counted towards your total.
larch

Empowered (Comic Review)

Post by larch »

Synopsis:

Not only is costumed crime fighter “empowered” saddled with a less-than-ideal superhero name, but she wears a skintight and cruelly revealing “supersuit” that only magnifies her body-image insecurities. Worse yet, the suit’s unreliable powers are prone to failure, repeatedly leaving her in appallingly distressing situations…and giving her a shameful reputation as the lamest “cape” in the masks-and-tights business. Nonetheless, she pluckily braves the ordeals of her bottom-rung superheroic life with the help of her “thugalicious” boyfriend (and former witless minion) and her hard drinking ninja girlfriend, not to mention the supervillainous advice from a caged alien demonlord watching DVD’s from atop her coffee table…

This is my first time reading a Adam Warren comic. And I must say I haven’t read something as funny an wacky as Empowered in ages, as most comics these days take the more serious route when it comes the the story and plot. For those of you who don’t know who Adam Warren is he is most famous for his comic book adaptation of the Anime Dirty Pair Flash.

He is also famous for pushing the boundaries between titillation and fanservice and he uses that combined with satirization and humor to create Empowered. He definitely enjoys drawing sexy women in various states of undress, not that I am complaining. But on the other hand he also pokes fun at the people who enjoy that kind of thing. So take note before I start the review that it may not be for everybody.