Offroad Bikes anyone into it used to ?

Motoring and transportation related discussions.
Forum rules
The global forum rules are found here.

NOTE: posts in this section are not counted towards your total.
SBSP

Offroad Bikes anyone into it used to ?

Post by SBSP »

Anyone here do offroad biking ?

Ive been tempting to buy an offroad bike for a silly 5 years almost.
Then about 2 years ago i bought a Quad. Fun to ride but its not form me.
And its a shlep to move it around.

So I'm looking at the CRF 230F Vs the CRF 250R (Hopefully i will buy this soon) cant afford it now.

the 250R - Competition bike

and the 230R General offroad enduro

The 230R is tempting it goes for 30K brand new and the 250R +- 57K i guess. and i guess again the installment on it would be +-1000 once my quad is finished i can replace the installments with this, since im used to pay for it.

The 230R is about +- 7 Kg hevier not sure if it will make a difference.

The problem is I'm scared that i might outgrow the 230R and know i wont outgrow the 250 cust it has way, WAY! more
power than the 230. i think the 230 = 13 Kw and the 250R 32 Kw of power.

The 250R is capable of doing 0-100Km in 3.2 Secs and has a topend of +- 130Km/h BTW

But on the other hand ive riden an offroad like 2 or 3 times in my life. But dont want to buy twice.

Mebe ishould look at some youtube videos.

Same with my quad ive never riden a quad but out grew it quick quick with in 3 months.

Anyone here ever riden a 230R ? and knows off road bikes ? is it worth it ?
maxxis
Moderator Emeritus

Post by maxxis »

Maybe look at Yamaha rather. I read some horror stories about Honda MX bikes. Can't remember but I think it was on www.hondaracing.za.net
Screeper

Post by Screeper »

I've raced off-road bikes most of my life. Not any more though as I've got no time sadly :(

To be honest you can't go wrong with any of the big 4 (Yamaha,Kawasaki,Honda,Suzuki), they will all be great fun and reliable.