The Forum Survival Guide

New to the forum? Introduce yourself over here!
Ron2K
Forum Technical Administrator

The Forum Survival Guide

Post by Ron2K »

Ron's Guide to Forum Survival

Since I've noticed that we've recently had a few members join the forums, without having much clue what the forums are all about, I've decided to put together a Forum Survival Guide.

1) Read the rules

Your first step towards surviving on the forums is understanding what the community norms are. This is important for users who've posted on forums before, as every community has it's own widely differing standards, and what is perfectly acceptable on one forum may not be acceptable on another. Even I followed this simple guideline when I joined these forums, even though I've been posting on forums for many years and have been in charge of forums since 2003.

The forum staff do not look kindly on those who transgress, and neither do they accept ignorance as an excuse, so make sure that you've read the rules and that you understand them before you make your first post on the forums. If there's a point that you need some clarification on, then don't hesitate to contact a staff member; they will clear up any issues for you.

2) Read the FAQ

The guys who wrote the phpBB forum software have done the task of anticipating the most common questions asked by newcomers to forums. There's a link called "Forum FAQ" at the top of this page. Click on it. Read it. It will answer any questions you have about the forum, and even teach you a little that you may not have known.

As usual, if you have a question that isn't answered by the FAQ, then contact a staff member.

3) Learn to use the Search function