Signature sizes (Please Read)

Questions about the forums? Got a suggestion on how things can be improved? Post here!
Cameron_Losco
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2338
Joined: 30 May 2002, 02:00
Location: Out there somewhere

Signature sizes (Please Read)

Post by Cameron_Losco »

I have received a number of complaints from the mods with regards to people not adhering to the signature size rule. This rule has been put in place for everybodys convenience so please abide by it, by not adhering to this rule you are actually inconveniencing others which shows little or no respect. It’s a simple rule to follow and the moderators and myself don’t have time to run after people telling them to reduce the sizes of their sigs.

This rule is as follows

Maximum signature specs
Size: 450x150 (pixels)
Weight: 25k

I know that some of you are just over the limit but by practicing image optimisation you should be able to keep within these specs and keep your pretty sig. If you don’t have the software to help do this then use the Internet to find a free download or service. Below is a service that works pretty well if you need to reduce your size by a bit.

http://www.spinwave.com/crunchers.html
Try it and you will see that it can be done.

<b>If people still continue with this I might have to ban images in sigs</b>, at least for a while until the message sinks in.
Do you want to be the cause of this? I thought not.
Kitt-E-Kat
Registered User
Posts: 647
Joined: 23 Jun 2005, 02:00
Location: Lying in a beam of sunshine!

Re: Signature sizes (Please Read)

Post by Kitt-E-Kat »

Cameron Losco wrote:
This rule is as follows

Maximum signature specs
Size: 450x120 (pixels)
Weight: 20k

<b>If people still continue with this I might have to ban images in sigs</b>, at least for a while until the message sinks in.
Do you want to be the cause of this? I thought not.


Stupid ?: Can someone maybe tell me how to check if mine is the correct size etc
Image
Cameron_Losco
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2338
Joined: 30 May 2002, 02:00
Location: Out there somewhere

Post by Cameron_Losco »

Yours is fine!
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Post by jee »

Siemens please read.
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
Abatis
Registered User
Posts: 819
Joined: 31 Mar 2005, 02:00

Post by Abatis »

how do they get their sigs up, i mean doesn't it block it if it's too big?
What does man fear most? That no one will understand him, or that someone truly might?
J2theT
Permanently Banned
Posts: 2166
Joined: 17 Nov 2004, 02:00
Location: Sandton

Post by J2theT »

should thought so but maybe they working on it.

Hopefully mines fine ....
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Post by jee »

Ducky.. if its not fineyou will get a PM from me :P
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
Cameron_Losco
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2338
Joined: 30 May 2002, 02:00
Location: Out there somewhere

Post by Cameron_Losco »

Abatis, your sig is a bit heavy. Please optimise it.

Its simple to check how your sig fits into these rules:

- right click on the image
- click properties

You will see all the information that you need to know about your sig.
RuadRauFlessa
Registered User
Posts: 20576
Joined: 19 Sep 2003, 02:00
Location: Bloodbank

Post by RuadRauFlessa »

It only blocks your avetar on size and weight. The images on the sig aren't actually uploaded or set through a site method which means that it could be anything if you want it to be. This being said I for one am always complaining to ppl about sigs and other overly ambitous image postings. I know that I do not suffer in terms of bandwidth but some other ppl do and we have to take them into account as well.

PS: Thanks Cameron - It's been long overdue.
:rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock:
Spoiler (show)
Intel Core i7-2600k @ 3.4GHz
Corsair Vengence 2x4GB DDR3 2000MHz
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
ASUS nVidia GTX560 1GB
CoolerMaster HAF 932
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Post by jee »

It seems that there are a few posters that insists on changing their sigs often, and to try and sneak a heavier sig in. Now, for those of you who do NOT know how to check your sig. I suppose you all know what a right click is? Well do that on your proposed sig, and you will find a little tag that says "properties". I assume you all can read. If you click on that, you will see the size of your sig. BEWARE IF IT IS BIGGER THAN THE SPECS CAMERON POSTED!

And to those of you, like Rid1 who makes sigs, YOU KNOW THE SPECS, DO NOT MAKE THEM ANY BIGGER SIZE!
User avatar
Prime
Registered User
Posts: 27723
Joined: 01 Mar 2004, 02:00
Location: Getting into trouble
Contact:

Post by Prime »

@jee. some of us dont deliberatly make our sigs overly large. so stop having goes at rid1.

my sig is deliberately smaller in size cos i didnt want it to be to big. well edivently it was. now i dont have a sig. some of us dont try to break forum rules deliberately!!!!

*ripper.... Rid1 knows EXACTLY how big a sig may be. Ask him how many times have he had a PM from me about it. You must also take the weighting into consideration - jee*

edit: even if your sig is well within the specs of size it can still be over wieght. for example look at mine.
Last edited by Prime on 17 Jul 2005, 15:49, edited 1 time in total.
WiK1d
Registered User
Posts: 20732
Joined: 13 Sep 2004, 02:00
Location: Cruising the streets of Pretoria
Contact:

Post by WiK1d »

YEah, im with da_ripper, I make myself a pic, dont look at the siza, upload to see if its ok or not. 1 Minute and Jee sends me a PM, cant she just leave me alone! Its diffucult to keep great looking sigs at under 20k without colour loss, and not to talk about animations.

Ive said my say!
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Post by jee »

WikKid, if you cannot abide by the rules.....
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
WiK1d
Registered User
Posts: 20732
Joined: 13 Sep 2004, 02:00
Location: Cruising the streets of Pretoria
Contact:

Post by WiK1d »

jee wrote:It seems that there are a few posters that insists on changing their sigs often, and to try and sneak a heavier sig in


At who was that aimed?? ME! You really think I would do that to sneak in bigger sigs, no! I just get bored and make something else! Don't you understand?
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Post by jee »

WiKid if you feel guilty its fine. And I have nothing with being bored, I myself have several sigs and avvies. You actually don't know how often per week I pm people regarding their sigs. Tell me, when you make a sig, don't you know what the sizes are before you upload?
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
WiK1d
Registered User
Posts: 20732
Joined: 13 Sep 2004, 02:00
Location: Cruising the streets of Pretoria
Contact:

Post by WiK1d »

I usually just press save and upload it then
Siemens
Registered User
Posts: 2812
Joined: 01 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: somewhere over the rainbow where katie melua is running from me.

Post by Siemens »

i cant log into my settings! please remove my sig yourselfs
Image
"Friends are a lot like potatoes. If you eat them they die." - Stuart
someidiotsa
Registered User
Posts: 2271
Joined: 08 Jan 2004, 02:00
Location: Durban

Post by someidiotsa »

Narkath must be a master at this, I dont know how he got my sig to look so good with so little bytes.... Odd really....
Siemens
Registered User
Posts: 2812
Joined: 01 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: somewhere over the rainbow where katie melua is running from me.

Post by Siemens »

It is cause urs isnt animated
Image
"Friends are a lot like potatoes. If you eat them they die." - Stuart
someidiotsa
Registered User
Posts: 2271
Joined: 08 Jan 2004, 02:00
Location: Durban

Post by someidiotsa »

Maybe but look at Wikids it isnt animated yet it is bigger than mine...
WiK1d
Registered User
Posts: 20732
Joined: 13 Sep 2004, 02:00
Location: Cruising the streets of Pretoria
Contact:

Post by WiK1d »

Nada!!! Mine is half of yours!!
User avatar
Prime
Registered User
Posts: 27723
Joined: 01 Mar 2004, 02:00
Location: Getting into trouble
Contact:

Post by Prime »

i dont actually know the size limits until someone reminds me. and mine isnt animated either. jee i know of several other sigs that are oversize but im not going to get those people into trouble or tell who they are
WiK1d
Registered User
Posts: 20732
Joined: 13 Sep 2004, 02:00
Location: Cruising the streets of Pretoria
Contact:

Post by WiK1d »

Hey dr, can you perhaps pm me your sig you had, I wanna see it please!!
User avatar
Prime
Registered User
Posts: 27723
Joined: 01 Mar 2004, 02:00
Location: Getting into trouble
Contact:

Post by Prime »

sure. will do.
WiK1d
Registered User
Posts: 20732
Joined: 13 Sep 2004, 02:00
Location: Cruising the streets of Pretoria
Contact:

Post by WiK1d »

Thanks man!!
Locked