Building a rig [first timer]

Want advice on building your rig or just want to show off?
Alpha_1

Building a rig [first timer]

Post by Alpha_1 »

Hi there,
This is my first time building a rig, and i needed some help/advice :)
This rig is actually for my girlfriend who is studying visual effects, 3D animation, modeling etc...
So what I have mapped out so for is the following, Oh and the budget is about R16k
CPU: Core i7 3930 (with intel boxed air cooling solution)
Mobo: Intel "Thorsby" X79
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB
GFX: Gigabyte nvidia GTX670 OC Edition
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4GB) 1600MHz
PSU: XFX 750W Pro Series
Case: Zalman Z9 (not included in budget)

Now, some concerns i have with all of this (one of course being my first build and all) is the motherboard, RAM, and PSU.
Lets start with motherboard; I have heard mixed feelings with getting an Intel motherboard but noone seems to able to give me a straight answer. The motherboard that I have chosen seems to be the most reasonably priced LGA2011 motherboard i have seen, and thus i chose it. There seems to be almost no reviews for it online.
RAM; There is most certainly cheaper RAM i can get that is also 4x4GB 1600MHz, names like Kingston, Patriot etc. Why would i choose corsair over these ones? Does latency matter that much to warrant spending R300 more etc. (especially if this rig is only for seldom gaming)?
PSU; I know almost nothing about PSUs other than how much wattage ill need. How can i find out if this one has all the connectors/plugs that i need?

Stuart
Lead Forum Administrator

Re: Building a rig [first timer]

Post by Stuart »

The motherboard is fine. The gamers and overclockers here will tell you to look elsewhere, but for animation and design there is nothing wrong with an Intel board.

I don't see much reason to spend any more on RAM than is absolutely necessary for your purposes. Honestly, I'd settle for cheaper Kingston or Patriot RAM.