Nintendo Wii (Review)

Any reviews that the G3AR team publishes will go in here.
larch

Nintendo Wii (Review)

Post by larch »

I have been the proud owner of a Nintendo Wii for just over 2 months now and I have been enjoying this little console immensely. After much consideration (I was afraid I couldn't do it justice with one of my reviews), I decided to finally take the plunge and review this awesome piece of hardware.

Just one or two side notes: A. This will be a completely biased review, since I have been a fan of Nintendo for ages. B. I will not review the online aspect of the Nintendo Wii, since I have little to no experience with that aspect of the console as of yet C. There won?t be any mention of the other consoles, as this will be a review of the Wii and I want to avoid the whole console X is better than console Y debate.

Now that we got all the formalities out of the way, let us begin??

The first thing you notice about the Wii is its design; very distinctive especially when standing upright in its stand. I am glad they went with a white finish, as it makes ugly small scratches a lot less visible than a black finish.

The SD card reader and Sync interface for the Wii remotes are nicely hidden from view, same goes for the Gamecube memory card readers located on the top of the console (when its standing vertically).

The back of the console has the connector for the 12v power adapter, the AV out, the Wii sensor bar and two usb connections for extra peripherals to round it off. You end up with a lot less cable clutter and cables, since the Wii remotes are all wireless.

My only issue with the design would be the stand for the Wii; when in an upright position it seems rather ?fragile? at the best of times and looks ready to be knocked over quite easily. I recommend placing it horizontally if you have little nephews or nieces who are running about all over the show, but it looks so much sexier when sitting horizontally in its stand.