Far Cry 3

Anything to do with PC gaming goes in here.
Anakha56
Forum Administrator
Posts: 22136
Joined: 14 Jun 2004, 02:00
Processor: Ryzen 1700K
Motherboard: Asus X370
Graphics card: Asus 1060 Strix
Memory: 16GB RAM
Location: Where Google says

Far Cry 3

Post by Anakha56 »

/Could have sworn we had a topic for this...

So its out... Who has played it thoughts? Did you enjoy the U(do not)Play server bug on launch day? RPS has a brilliant read on the matter...

http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2012/11 ... is-a-mess/
Far Cry 3 Servers Down Already: Ubi, This Is A Mess

By John Walker on November 30th, 2012 at 9:26 am.

Update: Ubisoft have tweeted an apology, saying they’re working as fast as they can to get the servers back online.

So, like many others, I’m very excited to play Far Cry 3. After Jim’s review, and many similar elsewhere, I’ve been dying to play it and finally have the chance. Today is my day off, hooray! And so far I’ve been treated to a horrible, horrible time, and all at the hands of the technical mess that is Uplay and idiotic mechanical choices. And right now? Ubisoft’s servers are down. On launch day. You can still play in offline mode, but ho boy, this isn’t a good start.


Right now, this is what the game looks like:

...
Follow the link for the full story. I lol'ed hard reading this. So glad I avoided the hype hopefully when it has a special price tag all U(do not)Play issues will be sorted...
JUSTICE, n A commodity which is a more or less adulterated condition the State sells to the citizen as a reward for his allegiance, taxes and personal service.
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

I've bought this and using Uplay. I've heard the servers were down but I got treated to a messy patch that took 3 hours to download and ended up failing the CRC check. 60min into download the ftp patch did I reset my router and got a proper download speed, but no other program had issues. I was playing black ops 2 and downloading other stuff flawlessly.

What I can say is this, your playing with a voiced character which I prefer. The game can be seen as the crysis of 2012. Nvidia has released beta drivers but be warned the game does have graphical flaws with the driver. Or it could be my card over heating (its hot here).

Would I recommend buying it? I don't know yet. I'm trying to get into the game but open world games has this effect on me that I wonder off to all the wrong places before I finally come back.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

My experience with Far Cry 3 so far. My gameplay has been stopped due to technical errors. You need the latest nvidia beta drivers to play the game and it is artifacts the games after a while.

Take this with a pinch of salt. The game is a stripped down Skyrim.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
D3PART3D
Starbound's Dear
Posts: 16294
Joined: 01 Dec 2004, 02:00
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by D3PART3D »

It looks seriously good... how is the enemy AI?
Ceterum autem censeo Samsung Mobile esse delendam.

When something is important enough, you do it even if the odds are not in your favor.
- Elon Musk
User avatar
THE_STIG
Spoiled Brat
Posts: 11762
Joined: 26 Aug 2010, 20:33
Processor: Core i7 6800k
Motherboard: Asrock x99 taichi
Graphics card: Zotac 1080ti amp extreme
Memory: 16gb(4x4gb) corsair vengeance
Location: Some say.......

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by THE_STIG »

After reading that link and with the flawed beta drivers. I will definitely wait a good few months before buying this
Molean
Registered User
Posts: 2610
Joined: 05 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: Look behind you...
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Molean »

Been Playing for about 3-4hrs and enjoying it thus far. Much better outing than FC2 was...I like how some missions force you to be stealth, instead of just running in gun-ho all the time...

Only thing I don't like is the access to your inventory/skills/crafting...having to push escape everytime then work your way throught the cumbersome menu is no fun at all. I was hoping for a faster "get in, get out" kind of menu or inventory...
Image
i7 2600K|Zalman CNPS9900Max Red|8GB Corsair Vengance|Asus Maximus Gene-Z|MSI GTX660Ti PE OC|
|OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD|SG: 1.5TB+2TB+3TB|Samsung 2494HS|CM 850W Pro Silent PSU|CM690II
Molean
Registered User
Posts: 2610
Joined: 05 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: Look behind you...
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Molean »

Here are some screens shots of Far Cry 3 using my new GFX...I have the video settings on over cranked and it is running like a hot knife through butter. I am actually quite surprised that it runs so amazing with the settings I am using...

Njoy!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Image
i7 2600K|Zalman CNPS9900Max Red|8GB Corsair Vengance|Asus Maximus Gene-Z|MSI GTX660Ti PE OC|
|OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD|SG: 1.5TB+2TB+3TB|Samsung 2494HS|CM 850W Pro Silent PSU|CM690II
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

Your running ultra with no slow downs?
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
Molean
Registered User
Posts: 2610
Joined: 05 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: Look behind you...
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Molean »

StarBound wrote:Your running ultra with no slow downs?
Not a single slow down...
Image
i7 2600K|Zalman CNPS9900Max Red|8GB Corsair Vengance|Asus Maximus Gene-Z|MSI GTX660Ti PE OC|
|OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD|SG: 1.5TB+2TB+3TB|Samsung 2494HS|CM 850W Pro Silent PSU|CM690II
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

I call BS. My system slows down at times. My game runs around 30-45fps and not the 120fps I want.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
Molean
Registered User
Posts: 2610
Joined: 05 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: Look behind you...
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Molean »

StarBound wrote:I call BS. My system slows down at times. My game runs around 30-45fps and not the 120fps I want.
Haha, well I have been jamming it for over 3hrs now since getting my new card and I promise if it was jerky/stuttering in any way, I would not play it...

Are you using the latest Nvidia drivers? (Sorry had to ask) and have you patched your Farcry? (I have not)
Image
i7 2600K|Zalman CNPS9900Max Red|8GB Corsair Vengance|Asus Maximus Gene-Z|MSI GTX660Ti PE OC|
|OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD|SG: 1.5TB+2TB+3TB|Samsung 2494HS|CM 850W Pro Silent PSU|CM690II
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

Well last time I played was when I still have Windows 8. Need to reinstall the game.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
Molean
Registered User
Posts: 2610
Joined: 05 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: Look behind you...
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Molean »

Good deal. Cause I am running my GFX @ 16 x AA, 16 x AF and 8 x SuperSampling...
Image
i7 2600K|Zalman CNPS9900Max Red|8GB Corsair Vengance|Asus Maximus Gene-Z|MSI GTX660Ti PE OC|
|OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD|SG: 1.5TB+2TB+3TB|Samsung 2494HS|CM 850W Pro Silent PSU|CM690II
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

gonna use TXAA. Want to see the buzz around it.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

Game runs smooth but I do still notice when the slow downs occur but that's more of a "its not longer 120fps but 45fps" kinda of slow down. Definitely a Windows 8 thing.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
DarkStar
Registered User
Posts: 2701
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 02:00
Location: What? You mean you can't see me?
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by DarkStar »

On a good day, I'm happy with 40fps in any game...


What has this world come to?

On a side note - this game has probably the most intense beginning of any game I've ever played.
If I can't find a friendship problem...I'll make a friendship problem!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lxo1qlk6gEI
petrivanzyl
Registered User
Posts: 195
Joined: 31 Aug 2012, 18:29
Location: Klerksdorp

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by petrivanzyl »

Have you guys found the "Die antwoord" song in Far Cry 3?
"I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not sure"
(Intel i5-3570K; ASRock Z77 Extreme 6; GSkill Ares DDR3-1600 16GB; Gigabyte 670 GTX OC Edition; OCZ Vertex 4 128GB SSD; 2TB & 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDDs; CM 690 II Advanced USB 3.0; LG E2770 27" LED)
Image
User avatar
THE_STIG
Spoiled Brat
Posts: 11762
Joined: 26 Aug 2010, 20:33
Processor: Core i7 6800k
Motherboard: Asrock x99 taichi
Graphics card: Zotac 1080ti amp extreme
Memory: 16gb(4x4gb) corsair vengeance
Location: Some say.......

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by THE_STIG »

Oh no...
DarkStar wrote:On a side note - this game has probably the most intense beginning of any game I've ever played.
Played it on a friends PC. And yep that part was pretty good, just the game was all jerky and filled with random slowdowns. He has the same cpu I have, but with a 550ti, and 8gb of no name low profile ram. So I think I must definitely look for a new graphics card before I buy the game, doubt that my crumby 450 will even do medium settings :(
StarBound
Registered Pervert
Posts: 6879
Joined: 30 Jul 2004, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Graphics card: MSI GTX780Ti Gaming
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 16GB
Location: The Greater Unknown
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by StarBound »

From a few benchmarks I've seen the lower detail settings runs rather smoothly but when you step up it starts taking a rather hard beating.
My Steam Screenshots

I lived the dream ...then my PC died.
User avatar
THE_STIG
Spoiled Brat
Posts: 11762
Joined: 26 Aug 2010, 20:33
Processor: Core i7 6800k
Motherboard: Asrock x99 taichi
Graphics card: Zotac 1080ti amp extreme
Memory: 16gb(4x4gb) corsair vengeance
Location: Some say.......

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by THE_STIG »

Seems so. But I don't really want to have to settle for the low settings
Molean
Registered User
Posts: 2610
Joined: 05 Jul 2005, 02:00
Location: Look behind you...
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Molean »

Hmm I have a friend with an i5, 4gig memory and a 550ti and he is playing the game on high and it is running rather smoothly, with the GFX looking almost as good as mine...

@ THE_STIG - You should be able to play the game on Medium with your 450. I tested one out last week and I was able to do so with said card. I highly recommend everyone to use the latest Nvidia drivers as there is a definite performance increase in Far Cry when using them.
Image
i7 2600K|Zalman CNPS9900Max Red|8GB Corsair Vengance|Asus Maximus Gene-Z|MSI GTX660Ti PE OC|
|OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD|SG: 1.5TB+2TB+3TB|Samsung 2494HS|CM 850W Pro Silent PSU|CM690II
petrivanzyl
Registered User
Posts: 195
Joined: 31 Aug 2012, 18:29
Location: Klerksdorp

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by petrivanzyl »

Just completed Far Cry 3 Image

Image
"I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not sure"
(Intel i5-3570K; ASRock Z77 Extreme 6; GSkill Ares DDR3-1600 16GB; Gigabyte 670 GTX OC Edition; OCZ Vertex 4 128GB SSD; 2TB & 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDDs; CM 690 II Advanced USB 3.0; LG E2770 27" LED)
Image
User avatar
THE_STIG
Spoiled Brat
Posts: 11762
Joined: 26 Aug 2010, 20:33
Processor: Core i7 6800k
Motherboard: Asrock x99 taichi
Graphics card: Zotac 1080ti amp extreme
Memory: 16gb(4x4gb) corsair vengeance
Location: Some say.......

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by THE_STIG »

Molean wrote:Hmm I have a friend with an i5, 4gig memory and a 550ti and he is playing the game on high and it is running rather smoothly, with the GFX looking almost as good as mine...

@ THE_STIG - You should be able to play the game on Medium with your 450. I tested one out last week and I was able to do so with said card. I highly recommend everyone to use the latest Nvidia drivers as there is a definite performance increase in Far Cry when using them.
Interesting. Well he had the settings way too high. 8xAA......that sort of thing

I have ordered fc3 so when it comes I shall see. Also my monitors native res is only 1600X900 so that should help the frame rate a bit
User avatar
THE_STIG
Spoiled Brat
Posts: 11762
Joined: 26 Aug 2010, 20:33
Processor: Core i7 6800k
Motherboard: Asrock x99 taichi
Graphics card: Zotac 1080ti amp extreme
Memory: 16gb(4x4gb) corsair vengeance
Location: Some say.......

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by THE_STIG »

My Far cry 3 arrived today. Very much enjoying it :D

Also after much tweaking I have it running well enough with all settings on high. DX11 mode but with no aa of course, descends into a slow mo if I do

//that was without the update. Now that the updating is done I shall fiddle some more
Animal
Registered User
Posts: 358
Joined: 03 Apr 2007, 02:00
Location: I come from a land down under.
Contact:

Re: Far Cry 3

Post by Animal »

I'm also loving FC3 at the moment. Riunning great on my old E8400 with a GTX480. Think settings are on Very High with 4xAA, 1920 x 1080.
Post Reply