mssql back with MS Management Studio

Get help on databases - MySQL, Oracle, Access, etc.
Post Reply
geraldhum
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: 13 Feb 2009, 12:59

mssql back with MS Management Studio

Post by geraldhum »

HI All

Is there a way to backup the DB through Microsoft SQL Management Studio, so instead of appending or over writing the current backup it creates a new Backup. I am busy doing this through sqlcmd but only can over write or append to the current backup and my client wants to keep each backup.

Regards
Gerald
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: mssql back with MS Management Studio

Post by Tribble »

Yes you can - chose a different location and name when you do the backup.

Oh yes - and remove the current backup from the list.
Image
User avatar
hamin_aus
Forum Moderator
Posts: 18358
Joined: 28 Aug 2003, 02:00
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard: GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
Graphics card: EVGA GTX680 SC
Memory: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Contact:

Re: mssql back with MS Management Studio

Post by hamin_aus »

The only time you should be manually backing up a DB is the rare occasion you need to do an ad-hoc backup or restore.
With SQL maintenance plans and the SQL agent this is childsplay to automate!

Google "MSSQL Maintenance Plans"
MSSQL has one of the most comprehensive backup engines of any DBMS.
Just go to the Management tree in the object explorer in SSMS drill into it and right-click on the Maintenance Plans folder to start creating a custom backup plan that can do exactly what you want.
IE not overwrite your previous backups every time, but keep them all for a user-defined period.

Shout if you need help
Image
Post Reply