Linking your access dbase to your website

Get help on databases - MySQL, Oracle, Access, etc.
Post Reply
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by jee »

Hi,

I need some advice (and perhaps some help for a friend) on how to link an access dbase with about 6000 items to a website to make the catalogue and holding information available to the public.

I know nothing about either, and am totally out of my depth

Thanks
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
User avatar
Ron2K
Forum Technical Administrator
Posts: 9050
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 16:45
Location: Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Ron2K »

Which web programming language are you using? (ASP, ASP.NET, PHP, etc.)
Kia kaha, Kia māia, Kia manawanui.
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by jee »

Erm Ron do you mean for the website?
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by jee »

will find out for you - the lady who does the website is not in.

A questioin - can you "sniff" out with what a website has been done?
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
User avatar
Ron2K
Forum Technical Administrator
Posts: 9050
Joined: 04 Jul 2006, 16:45
Location: Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Ron2K »

One can in most cases figure it out by looking at the page extensions in the URL. It won't help with the URL you sent me via PM though, as their webserver is using URL rewriting. Although, I'd make a pretty strong guess and say PHP...
Kia kaha, Kia māia, Kia manawanui.
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by jee »

will let you know as soon as i have more details... in the mean time... can we start to add the items to access?
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

Access can create pages - which can be loaded onto the web. The nice thing is that the forms can be converted to pages - and so can the reports.
Image
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by jee »

ta Tribbs... but i'm still in the dark (jee works on Base)
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

Lol they are special forms that are created in Access that can be loaded onto the web - either in HTML or Java.
Image
doo_much
Registered User
Posts: 26022
Joined: 13 May 2004, 02:00
Location: Getting there...
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by doo_much »

Are they 'active' in the sense that you can change the database and these are reflected on you webpage or static?
MOOD - Thirsty

A surprising amount of modern pseudoscience is coming out of the environmental sector. Perhaps it should not be so surprising given that environmentalism is political rather than scientific.
Timothy Casey
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

They are active and link directly to your data.
Image
doo_much
Registered User
Posts: 26022
Joined: 13 May 2004, 02:00
Location: Getting there...
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by doo_much »

Kinky.

So teach us Oh Master! :D
MOOD - Thirsty

A surprising amount of modern pseudoscience is coming out of the environmental sector. Perhaps it should not be so surprising given that environmentalism is political rather than scientific.
Timothy Casey
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

Data is kinky indeed.

I can show you tomorrow if there is time :D
Image
jee
Registered User
Posts: 19336
Joined: 03 Jun 2003, 02:00
Location: a hole so deep...

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by jee »

yeah, but when will you show me? :(
"Integrity" and "integer" both contain a Latin root meaning "whole; complete." The root sense, then, is that people may be said to be acting with integrity when their beliefs, words, and actions have a sense of unity or wholeness.
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

Mmmm I shall have to make a plan soon. Will try and write a doc telling you how to do it
Image
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

I need help please.

Can a web based Access Database with SQL backend work through Sharepoint?
Image
RuadRauFlessa
Registered User
Posts: 20576
Joined: 19 Sep 2003, 02:00
Location: Bloodbank

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by RuadRauFlessa »

:rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock:
Spoiler (show)
Intel Core i7-2600k @ 3.4GHz
Corsair Vengence 2x4GB DDR3 2000MHz
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
ASUS nVidia GTX560 1GB
CoolerMaster HAF 932
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

Thank you so much. Those will be useful.

Found out I can do what we want to do. The Client has given us the contract. I am scared and excited. New territory. Only ever trained SharePoint from an end user's perspective. Luckily there are tons of experts around :D
I know that Access as a web app isn't ideal but our time frame doesn't allow for .asp or the like to be used. It will be good enough for the requirements however. Oh it is a Call Centre program btw.
Image
RuadRauFlessa
Registered User
Posts: 20576
Joined: 19 Sep 2003, 02:00
Location: Bloodbank

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by RuadRauFlessa »

Most of what you will need for a call center you can do in SharePoint by simple drag and drop.... no much time needed to implement any of the work flows and such.
:rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock: :rock:
Spoiler (show)
Intel Core i7-2600k @ 3.4GHz
Corsair Vengence 2x4GB DDR3 2000MHz
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
ASUS nVidia GTX560 1GB
CoolerMaster HAF 932
User avatar
Tribble
Registered User
Posts: 88456
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 02:00
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB
Location: Not here
Contact:

Re: Linking your access dbase to your website

Post by Tribble »

Ah but the bank will provide an encrypted document which we need to import and use to populate the fields. Then the CCO calls the potential client, captures the data. There is a document of at least 35 pages for the validations. Then the data needs to be exported, encrypted and sent to the bank. They will then run validations on it and any errors will be returned. I don't want there to be any returns. Need SQL for this.
Image
Post Reply