no more access

Get help on databases - MySQL, Oracle, Access, etc.
Mclaren

no more access

Post by Mclaren »

so, i want to go from using MS Access to using a custom front end and an SQL back end in an effort to prevent users having access to my VB code, and to prevent "Users in the know" from accessing tables directly. I believe SQL is better on the security side at preventing users from accessing tables directly. so my questions is, What is the easiest langauge to learn that will allow me to compile some form of front end and allow me to compile with little worry of someone being able to gain acces to or reverse engineer. I am pretty good at the MS Access VB stuff (All self taught with the help of 1 book and plenty websites) so i am not entirely new to coding. I just need something secure and easy to code in.
Tribble
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K CPU@3.50GHz
Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Memory: 16GB

Re: no more access

Post by Tribble »

Why don't you want to use Access as your front end? That is what I do and it is really simple to manage.
Stuart
Lead Forum Administrator

Post by Stuart »

Tribble wrote:Why don't you want to use Access as your front end? That is what I do and it is really simple to manage.
This is a trick question, right?
Mclaren wrote:so, i want to go from using MS Access to using a custom front end
Tribble

Post by Tribble »

But you can customise Access so that people are no longer aware that they are using Access. You can remove and change the menus etc. He already knows Access - so I want to know what problems he has with using it?
Stuart
Lead Forum Administrator

Post by Stuart »

Oh ... right ... like I said ... trick question.
rustypup

Post by rustypup »

Mclaren wrote:I am pretty good at the MS Access VB stuff (All self taught with the help of 1 book and plenty websites) so i am not entirely new to coding. I just need something secure and easy to code in.